<u>Dennen, Claybrooks Win In Roxbury</u> Season Finale

ROXBURY – Pat Dennen and Jennifer Claybrooks won the male and female divisions, respectively, Saturday, December 6, over a 2.4-mile layout in the final race in the 38th season of the Roxbury Road Race Series.

Dennen, 34, was first overall with a clocking of 13-minutes, 34-seconds – a 5:39-per-mile pace.

Former season champion Jeff Sheldon, 33, was second overall with a time of 14:09 on the loop, which included a jaunt up the steep hill on Chalybes Road.

Claybrooks, 25, took 15th overall in 18:58 in the 39th race of the season in the weekly series.

Following the race, Ken Merrick, 45, of New Fairfield, who placed third in 14:49, received a plaque for winning the season championship for the third consecutive year. He tallied 2,145 points for the season.

The other top six finishers among the men and the top six women also received plaques, as did the winners in categories that were determined by the vote of the runners in the series.

Ryan Ripp was second with 2.090 points, Steve Whitcomb finished third with 1,945 points, and Dan Readyoff took fourth place with 1,799 points. Chris Deming was fifth with 1,660 points and Ross Levy tallied 1,410 to place sixth for the season.

Cynthia Degirolamo, 48, won the women's season title and the rookie of the year honors. She garnered 1,322 points. Two-time defending women's titlist Theresa Gallagher-Krebs was the runner-up this year with 1,260 points.

Claybrooks took third place for the season with 1,237 points and was named the most improved runner. Alison Masopust was fourth with

1,067 points, Debby Valin finished fifth with 937 and Krystal Koenig was sixth with 725 points.

Bob Lewis received the annual service award and later presented the Bob Lewis Achievement Award to Whitcomb.

The series averaged more than 50 runners per race this season. Twenty-two people attended a Christmas party Saturday night, December 6, at the Italia Mia restaurant in New Milford.

The 39th season will start Saturday, February 21, at 8:30 a.m. with a run along the same 2.4-mile course. There will be no entry fee.

The 11th annual Roxbury Marathon will be held this Saturday, Dec. 13, with the early-bird start at 7:30 a.m. and the primary launch at 8:30 a.m. Registration closed weeks ago.

The races, which are sanctioned by the Roxbury Recreation Commission, start and finish near the Everett Hurlburt Community Park at 18 Apple Lane.

For more information, please contact Scott Benjamin, the head director, at ScottBenjaminWCSU2014@gmail.com or (860) 354-3521.